Morning thoughts

I’m grateful for the job I have. Really. But I guess something I took a lot of time to adjust to is my morning commute. 

Three buses. Two towns. One destination. 

It’s like a cheesy movie tag line isn’t it? But anyway it’s still hard to wake up at 5.45 to travel that far for work but I’d rather that then be unemployed, obviously. 

Adjusting meant I had to learn new skills to help me remain sane on a 90 minute commute. 

I now know how to sleep on a bus with ease. Wrap your bag around your hand, wear your biggest scarf and nod off with your feet uncrossed or you’ll wake up with a cramp. Trust me. 

I still can’t fully read on a bus, motion sickness is not really a skill I can master easily. Especially on an empty stomach.

Lastly, it’s my thoughts that keep me fueled for the day. I try to think of ideas for blog posts, activities I can do after work, or maybe even just trying to organize my days mentally so I’m prepared to start the week off on a positive note. 

Learning how to be by myself in silence was definitely my biggest accomplishment. Sometimes it’s so easy to get lost in the world that I forget to just stop and empty my mind to just observe what’s happening around me. And although this commuting distance won’t last forever, I know that I’d like to keep this aspect going in my life. 

Don’t forget, if you can’t love your own company how can you appreciate someone else’s? 

Much love,

Zoë 

Half way there
Leave a Reply

